New varieties introduced as master list released

Wheat Variety Master List released for 2019

Condo (PBR) wheat heads on a farm near Old Junee, NSW. PHOTO Nicole Baxter

Condo (PBR) wheat heads on a farm near Old Junee, NSW. PHOTO Nicole Baxter


Classification changes announced as Wheat Variety Master List is released for 2019.


As part of Wheat Quality Australia's (WQA) ongoing work to improve the competitiveness of Australia's wheat industry, 13 newly classified wheat varieties (one feed variety and 12 milling varieties), have been announced in the 2019 WQA Wheat Variety Master List - along with the removal of four old wheat varieties first flagged for removal in 2017.

The 2019 list introduces Catapult (PBR), Sunchaser (PBR), Longreach Hellfire, Longreach Nighthawk, Longreach Nyala, Longreach Oryx (PBR), Longreach Parakeet, Devil (PBR), Kinsei (PBR), Sheriff CL Plus (PBR), Vixen (PBR), DBA Artemis (PBR), DBA Spes (PBR) and RGT Relay.

These new releases contain varieties classified in:

  • the Hard classes APH, AH, APW and ASW;
  • noodle ANW, APW(N) and AH(N);
  • soft ASFT;
  • durum ADR; and
  • feed.

Western zone

In the western zone, there are a number of upgrades this year, including: Illabo (PBR), Coolah (PBR), Beckom (PBR), Suntop (PBR) and Elmore CL Plus (PBR) to AH.

With the decision to segregate APW(N), a number of varieties have been upgraded to have the noodle classification added to their existing Hard Class, including: Longreach Havoc (PBR) to AH (N); Cutlass (PBR) to APW(N); and Longreach Trojan (PBR) to APW(N).

Condo (PBR) has also been upgraded to APW in the western zone.

Southern and northern zones

Upgrades in other zones include: Illabo (PBR) to AH in the Northern Zone; Sunprime (PBR) to AH in the Southern Zone; EG Titanium to APW in the Northern Zone; and Chief CL Plus (PBR) to APW in the South Eastern Zone.

Market needs

The Clearfield Janz (PBR) variety in a Mallee Sustainable Farming trial. PHOTO Brad Collis

The Clearfield Janz (PBR) variety in a Mallee Sustainable Farming trial. PHOTO Brad Collis

The range of classes released across all four zones shows the breadth of new varieties being classified and upgraded to meet a range of market needs.

The 2019-20 Wheat Variety Master List represents the continuation of Wheat Quality Australia's work over the past six seasons in reviewing varieties more than 10 years old.

As a result of this review process, 361 varieties have been reviewed with 288 flagged for removal, 13 downgraded, one upgraded and 59 reclassified with no change to classification over this period.

Of particular note this season were the downgrading of two previously popular varieties in Central Queensland - Kennedy, which was downgraded to Feed, and Strzelecki (PBR), which was downgraded to AH.

Producer input

These changes have been the subject of an extensive consultation and communication process to ensure producers had adequate notice to adjust.

"Many of these old varieties represented a tiny percentage of wheat grown in Australia," Wheat Quality Australia chair Dr Don Plowman says.

"The varieties removed are also no longer referenced in any state, industry or GRDC sowing guides, as they have been superseded by new varieties with better agronomic, yield and quality characteristics.

"This is now an ongoing process of updating and refreshing the list, to ensure the quality and competitiveness of Australian wheat worldwide."

The four varieties removed from the Wheat Variety Master List in 2019-20 were first flagged for removal in 2017 and delivered in their existing class up until 2018. They have now been removed after lengthy consultation with the industry.

Future plans

Varieties planned for removal in 2020 are: SW Flamenco, Peake (PBR), Longreach Dakota (PBR), Merinda (PBR), EGA Wills, EGA Eaglehawk, EGA Jaeger, EGA Stampede, EGA Bounty (PBR) and Naparoo (PBR).

Varieties planned for removal in 2021 are: Blade, Clearfield JNZ (PBR), Clearfield STL (PBR), Pugsley (PBR), Tammarin Rock (PBR), Binnu (PBR), Longreach Bullet, Yandanooka, Zulu, Zebu, Frelon, Zippy (PBR), Bumper (PBR) and Endure.

"WQA continues to work closely with all sectors of the Australian wheat industry to ensure the quality attributes for each class of wheat are directly aligned with end use market requirements," Dr Plowman says.

The Wheat Variety Master List contains the names of all current varieties approved by Australia's wheat classification process.

The Master List records the highest possible grade available for respective varieties.

It is updated annually, forms part of each season's Grain Trade Australia (GTA) Wheat Standards, is published on the Wheat Quality Australia website on September 1 and is distributed to stakeholders.

The WQA 2019/20 Wheat Variety Master List is available from the WQA website at It is also published in the Grain Trade Australia Wheat Standards at